Mars by Souryo Fuyumi

27 Apr

Alternative Name:マース; 战神mars; Pho Tượng Cổ (vietnamese)

Genre(s):Drama, Josei, Mystery, Psychological, Romance, School Life, Shoujo, Slice Of Life

Author(s):Souryo Fuyumi

Status:Completed

Manga Summary from Mangahere.com:
Kira believes that Rei and all other men in the world are dirty. She stays away from her classmates, hiding in her art. What happens when the delinquent motorcyclist and playboy, Rei, gets ahold of one of her drawings, and actually wants to keep it? Kira, a shy high school student, lives only for her art. Rei, An arrogant, rebellious and violent playboy, wears his delinquency like a badge of honor. They are exact opposites in every way, but when Kira sees Rei kissing a statue of Mars, she overcomes her fears and asks him to model for her. And, to everyone’s surprise, Rei agrees.

What I Think About It:

If Psychological stories doesn’t bother you much, you definitely want to read this. This is a nice story between a girl and boy that has both experienced a cruel past and through each other, they gain a sense a stability and more courage to go on with life. I don’t know how many times I read this manga but every time I do, it doesn’t fail to bring tears to my eyes. You may say this story is a twisted or warped but all that do is make the story more believable. I know the beginning of the story seems like a typical ‘Popular Guy’ approaches the school’s outcast but as we go through its pages, we’ll realize that there is something more into this story. Overall, I can confidently say  that this is one of the most beautiful mangas I’ve read. I love the drawings, I love the story and I definitely want more of it. I am now watching the live action drama series of this story! 😀

4 Responses to “Mars by Souryo Fuyumi”

  1. GP April 27, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    Reblogged this on misentopop.

  2. euphraxia April 27, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    Hi, I looked up your blog and it’s very interesting! 🙂 I haven’t read this manga, have only watched the live-action drama (and I loved it)! Maybe I should someday take the time to read this manga… I like dark, deep, psychological, mature manga with romance in it. But it’s such a shame there is no anime of Mars, maybe it’d because of it’s mature themes in it, I don’t know. Anyways, great blog! 🙂

    • otakuffee April 27, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

      I totally agree with you. After I read the manga, I immediately looked for its anime. Such a shame it didn’t have one. A Mars anime would totally be welcomed. I’m still in the process of watching the live-action drama and so far so good. 😀 Thanks for the comment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mars (Taiwanese Drama) | otakuffee - May 25, 2013

    […] If you haven’t read my review about its manhwa/manga,  you read it here. […]

Leave a Reply

