All About Fanfictions

29 Oct

What is a fanfiction?

Wikipedia says, “Fan fiction (alternatively referred to as fanfiction, fanfic, FF, or fic) is a broadly-defined term for fan labor regarding stories about characters or settings written by fans of the original work, rather than by the original creator. Works of fan fiction are rarely commissioned or authorized by the original work’s owner, creator, or publisher; also, they are almost never professionally published. Because of this, many fan fictions written often contain a disclaimer stating that the creator of the work owns none of the characters. Fan fiction, therefore, is defined by being both related to its subject’s canonical fictional universe and simultaneously existing outside the canon of that universe.[1] Most fan fiction writers assume that their work is read primarily by other fans, and therefore tend to presume that their readers have knowledge of the canon universe (created by a professional writer) in which their works are based.”

To make it short, it is a made up story made by a fan. It can be about anime/manga, books, game, movies, cartoons, comics, TV shows or plays/musicals.

I’m an avid reader of fanfictions myself and I have to have my daily dose of it. I usually read FF in my bed with my phone before I go to sleep. I even write fanfictions too but recently I don’t have any inspiration to do it. I think the creative side of my mind shut down. And I’m kind of sorry for my readers and followers for that. I do hope I’ll find some sort of inspiration for it soon.

Anyways, back on the topic. What’s the nice thing about fanfictions is that your extreme or ridiculous imagination can be made possible. Just think, you can kill a character and then revive him the next. Or kill off the main male character and let the supporting male character have the girl. Ok, I just realized my examples are all about killing. But seriously, you don’t have to kill anybody. I’m not a fan of character death myself.

Another thing I love about FFs is the cross-overs. I can imagine Ichigo (Bleach) driving a gundam like in Gundam Wing while fighting the enemies from Naruto. Better yet, Capt. Jack Sparrow made an appearance in One Piece. You can put any character you want in the story. Hell, you can even decide the place, time and the scenario. Maybe in the future, you’ll be as good as CLAMP as they made the Reservoir Tsubasa Chronicles.

It is also in Fanfics that you can dream and make a story about possible and/or impossible pairings. Yes, you can make a yaoi or yuri. (I’m not a fan). It can be about a pair in the sidelines that you think suits each other or it can be the main couple. It really depends on you. I, for one, am a fan of the SessKag pairing. I believe Sesshoumaru and Kagome (Inuyasha) suits each other nicely. They are my favorite make believe couple to date. But that doesn’t mean I don’t like the original pairings. I love AmuTo (Amu and Ikuto from Shugo Chara) and Ren x Kyouko(from Skip Beat). FFs also give us the chance to highlight the supporting characters or couples. Like my best friend, she’s into NejiTen(Neji x Ten Ten from Naruto). She’s so into them and it isn’t new to me when we talk about stories, NejiTen fics are always mentioned.

And if you’re good with your fingers, you can also make artworks for your story.  There are sites which accept original art works.  Too bad, I’m not so confident in my skills. ^_^

And since, aspiring writers like us have still more things to work on, maybe you’ll encounter a story that makes you confused, filled with hanging sentences, wrong grammar, misspelled words, fragments, and etc. Of course, it’s not an excuse to publish half baked works but there are really times where you will encounter this. That’s the major drawback of fanfictions. I have read a lot of these, mind you, and it wasn’t pleasant. I greatly appreciated a good plot but if you write a story in such a way that we can’t understand it, what’s the point?

Another thing that irritates me is some users tend to copy works of others. It’s not the site’s fault and they provided us with guidelines and rules about it. There are just some who doesn’t want to respect and follow those rules. I had experienced it and it sucks. I was just so irritated that someone copied my work and deems it as their own. My effort and hard work! I didn’t spend my time constructing those sentences just to be copied. English is not my first language and it isn’t my second. It was hard to write a story not in your native tongue. I greatly appreciate some of my readers who informed me of this theft and I’m happy to say that the thief’s account has been suspended.

Fanfictions is a world that is so vast. It is the place where aspiring writers and readers like me gather. It is also through it that I further developed my skills in sentence construction and grammar. I love writing/reading reviews too. And through the reviews made by other readers, it will help you know what areas you should work on.

Well, do not let those negative sides of fanfictions affect your view on it. At least we are able to know the negative things that come along with it. Overall, Fanfictions are great and I totally love it. ❤

P.S. I use fanfiction.net and adultfanfiction.net. ^_^

Leave a Reply

