Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles by CLAMP

30 Sep

ABOUT THE MANGA

Alternative Name:ツバサ; ツバサ RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE; ツバサ・クロニクル; 츠바사 크로니클; 츠바사 RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE; Chronicle of the Wings; Huyền thoại đôi cánh; Tsubasa Chronicle; Tsubasa RC; Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle; Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles; Tsubasa翼

Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Comedy, Drama, Fantasy, Mystery, Romance, Shounen, Supernatural

Total Chapters: 233 chapters

Summary from Mangafox.com:

Sakura is the princess of Clow – and possessor of a mysterious, misunderstood power that promises to change the world. Syaoran is her childhood friend and leader of the archaeological dig that took his father’s life. They reside in an alternate reality where whatever you least expect can happen – and does. When Sakura ventures to the dig site to declare her love for Syaoran, a puzzling symbol is uncovered – which triggers a remarkable quest. Now Syaoran embarks upon a desperate journey through other worlds – all in the name of saving Sakura.

ABOUT THE ANIME:

Total Episodes: 

Season 1: 26 episodes

Season 2: 26 episodes

Tsubasa Tokyo Revelations: 3 episodes

Tsubasa Shunraiki: 2 episodes

Film: The Princess in the Birdcage Kingdom

*in conjunction with xxxHolic: A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Summary from Animecrazy.net:

Syaoran, a boy who wants to become an archeologist, and Sakura, a princess from the Clow Kingdom, are childhood friends with a close relationship. On a fateful night, Sakura lost all her memories as a result of a conspiracy to obtain her powers. In order to regain her memory, Syaoran seeks help from the witch, Yuuko. Yuuko tells Syaoran that he has to travel from one alternate reality to another to collect fragments of Sakura’s memory. However, even if Sakura regains her memory, she will have no recollection of Syaoran. Travelling together with them is Kurogane, a warrior who was exiled from his country, and Fye, a magician who wants to escape from his King. With the help of a magical creature, Mokona, they set off on an exciting journey through time and space.

What I Think About It:

First thing’s first. I loved watching Card Captor Sakura and XXXholic. Now, that’s done with, let’s start with the manga. Before I read it, I was partially watching the first season of this. It encouraged me to read its manga, obviously. (How can I not? I saw Sakura & Syaoran on it. ^_^ ) Manga have more details and especially like a masterpieces like this one with so many twists, it’s so hard to grasp a situation where the cause of it all is another story. I really like the art work , it was pretty well made. The plot is exemplary but the draw back of it is that it makes it very confusing. I read all the issues of the manga and I comprehend just fine but sometimes I got a expression like this O.o . There are also times that I have to read 2 to 3 times just to make sure I read and understand it correctly.

The anime is still pretty made. The animation and art work is great. Voice actors, awesome. In relevance to manga, superb. What I do think about the negative part of the anime is that it skips so much. It made a giant leap. From 1st season to 2nd second it was okay and it is clearly understandable that its the continuation of the prior season. My greatest problem lies on its  original video animation (OVA).  I was ecstatic when learned about it but when I started watching it I was extremely disappointed. Since I read the manga, I know what cause that and this and that lead into this but when viewed from a fan that isn’t a reader of the manga, it would really be confusing. They decided to make OVAs and surely, it doesn’t hurt to have a proper and clear foundation about it.

Overall,  I still love CLAMP and some of its works. What I really love and hate about this series is that interdependent to the other works of CLAMP. Certainly you noticed that the characters are from different series. I give a 3.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

